Executive Recruitment

About the Council

The Council

Bradford Council is the fourth largest of 36 Metropolitan District Councils in the Country, which serve the larger cities and conurbations.  There are four other metropolitan authorities in the West Yorkshire area – Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield.

The City of Bradford has the status of a City and a Metropolitan District. In addition to the “Traditional Bradford City”, the Metropolitan District includes the following main areas of population: Addingham, Baildon, Bingley, Burley, Cullingworth, Denholme, Eastburn, Haworth, Ilkley, Keighley, Menston, Oxenhope, Queensbury, Silsden, Shipley and Steeton.

Bradford covers 141 square miles and is home to a diverse and growing population of 531,200.  Almost a quarter of people are under the age of 16 making us the youngest city in the UK.  Bradford Council has a workforce of 16,000 (including schools).

Promoting Bradford

Bradford is an extraordinary, energetic and enterprising place.  With over 17,000 businesses, the local economy is worth more than £9.5 billion while a thriving voluntary and community sector makes a significant contribution to the wellbeing, resilience and prosperity of our people and communities.

Globally connected and at the heart of Northern England the District has a rich and varied mix of cultures, languages and communities and a wide range of cultural and leisure assets. Over a third of people are from ethnic minorities with many maintaining international links and trading relationships.  The geographic diversity of our communities ranges from urban inner city and outer suburbs and estates to towns and rural villages. 

Council leaders recognise that no one is as good as everyone, so we work in close collaboration with partners across sectors, agencies and communities to maximise the impact of all of the district’s assets and resources on achieving and sustaining priority outcomes and building resilience.

Committee structure and decision making

The Council’s democratic decision making arrangements are set out in the Council’s Constitution. All 90 elected Members of the Council come together at meetings of the Full Council. Full Council approves documents contained in the policy framework and considers motions submitted by the political groups.

Overall control of Bradford Council is held by Labour which takes key decisions through the Executive. The Executive comprises the Leader of the Council and five other Members, appointed by the Leader, each responsible for a portfolio of services. The Executive is currently an all Labour administration and the matters on which decisions are to be taken are published in advance on the forward plan. Some Executive functions are delegated along with the budgets to the 5 Area Committees which are made up of elected Members from those areas. Area Committees encourage community development and create a link between communities and the Council. Dialogue on matters of local interest also take place at meetings of the Neighbourhood Forums.

The Council’s services and decision making is scrutinised by 5 overview and scrutiny committees covering service areas. The overview and scrutiny committees each have a work programme and make recommendations to the Executive or Full Council on how to make service improvements.

The Council also has a number of other committees/panels covering matters such as licensing, planning and governance.

Login / Create account